Safest Travel Cribs
Every crib sold new in the US meets the same mandatory standard. What actually differs is which brands tell you so, and what they add on top.
By Ryder M. · Published September 29, 2026 · Last reviewed

Disclosure: Wrap & Wander earns a commission on qualifying purchases made through links on this page, at no cost to you. It does not change which products we recommend or the order we rank them in — see how we pick and our full disclosure.
Quick picks
Ranked on the specs that decide it for a traveling parent — carried weight, packed size and fit. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
| # | Product | Best for | Score | Price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | ![]() Guava Lotus Travel CribThe only crib here that names the federal structural standard and a third-party emissions certification on the same page: 16 CFR 1221 / ASTM F406 plus GREENGUARD Gold. | A buyer who wants the certifications stated, not assumed | 9.3 | |
| 2 | ![]() Newton Baby Compact Travel Crib & Play YardGREENGUARD Gold on a washable breathe-thru core — the cleanest published answer on materials in this group. | A parent focused on what the mattress is made of | 9.0 | |
| 3 | ![]() BabyBjörn Travel Crib LightA 23.5 x 41 in mattress sized to a 32 x 44 in frame, with a one-motion open that leaves nothing to assemble wrongly. | Eliminating the edge gap without thinking about it | 8.6 | |
| 4 | ![]() Baby Delight Go With Me Slumber Deluxe Portable Rocking BassinetJPMA certified with published limits — up to five months or 20 lb — which is an unusually precise end-point for a bassinet. | A bassinet stage with a third-party certification | 8.4 | |
| 5 | ![]() Newton Baby Deluxe Travel Crib & Play YardGREENGUARD Gold and a fully washable core in the largest frame here — the practical safety win is being able to clean it properly. | A crib that stays up at a second home | 8.5 |
The short answer
Every travel crib sold new in the US meets the same mandatory federal standard, so no crib here is “safer” by category. What genuinely differs is which certifications each brand publishes — and on that measure the Guava Lotus is the most transparent, naming both the federal structural rule and a third-party emissions certification. This page is informational and not medical advice.
This is an awkward page to write honestly, because the useful answer is not the one the search implies. There is no ranking of crib safety to hand you. There is a mandatory standard every crib must meet, a set of voluntary certifications some brands add, and a set of setup mistakes that cause almost all real-world problems. So this page ranks on verifiability — which brands let you check — and sends you to our travel crib safety guide for the standards and the safe sleep rules themselves, which it does not restate.
The standard everything meets
CPSC defines a play yard as a framed enclosure with a floor and mesh or fabric sides, providing sleeping and playing accommodation for a child who cannot climb out and is less than 35 in in height (cpsc.gov, read 2026-09-27). The mandatory US standard is codified at 16 CFR part 1221 and incorporates ASTM F406 by reference; CPSC’s guidance notes the Commission determined ASTM F406-22 did not improve safety and retains the rule incorporating F406-19 (cpsc.gov, read 2026-09-27).
Two consequences. A crib sold new in the US is covered whether or not its listing says so — so silence is not evidence of a problem. And a crib of unknown age cannot be assumed to meet the version currently in force, which is the real argument against a hand-me-down.
What each brand actually publishes
| Crib | Federal standard named | Emissions certification | Other |
|---|---|---|---|
| Guava Lotus | 16 CFR 1221 / ASTM F406 | GREENGUARD Gold | CPSIA 2008; Canadian playpen regs |
| Newton Compact | Not on the page we read | GREENGUARD Gold | Washable core |
| Newton Deluxe | Not on the page we read | GREENGUARD Gold | Washable core |
| Baby Delight Slumber Deluxe | Not on the page we read | Not stated | JPMA certified |
| BabyBjörn Travel Crib Light | Not on the page we read | Not stated | — |
From each brand's own product page, read 2026-09-27 / 2026-09-29. "Not on the page we read" means we could not find it stated — NOT that the crib fails the standard. All are sold in the US and subject to 16 CFR part 1221.
What we’d skip
Anything marketed as “safest” without naming a standard. The word is free. The standard reference is the thing you can check.
Inclined sleepers and rockers that hold an angle at rest. The AAP limit is 10 degrees. This is a published position, not a preference.
Toppers, bumpers, positioners and loose blankets. Every one of them reintroduces the hazard the standard is written to prevent. A cold room is a clothing problem — pack a sleep sack.
This page is informational and not medical advice. Safe sleep questions specific to your child belong with their clinician.
Every pick in full
Guava Lotus Travel Crib
The only crib here that names the federal structural standard and a third-party emissions certification on the same page: 16 CFR 1221 / ASTM F406 plus GREENGUARD Gold.
Best for: A buyer who wants the certifications stated, not assumed
| Set up | 45.5 x 31.5 x 25.5 in (L x W x H) |
|---|---|
| Packed | 24 x 12 x 8 in |
| Weight | 15 lb (6.8 kg) including the carry bag |
| Mattress | 41.5 x 23.5 x 1.4 in, low-VOC and insulated |
| Carry | padded backpack straps — hands-free |
| Ages | newborn to three, or until the child can climb out |
| Standards | 16 CFR 1221 / ASTM F406; GREENGUARD Gold certified |
Specs from Guava Family Lotus Travel Crib product page, read 2026-09-27. Manufacturers revise specs without notice — check the listing before you buy.
Good at
- States 16 CFR 1221 / ASTM F406 compliance explicitly
- GREENGUARD Gold certified for low chemical emissions
- Also names CPSIA 2008 and the Canadian playpen regulations
- Low-VOC mattress; side zip door means fewer lifts over a rail
Bad at
Transparency is not the same as being safer than a crib that stays quiet — every crib here is subject to the same mandatory rule. You are buying verifiability, not a higher standard.
How it scores (out of 10)
Overall 9.3 — a research score against published specs, not a test result. See how we pick.
IllustrativeNewton Baby Compact Travel Crib & Play Yard
GREENGUARD Gold on a washable breathe-thru core — the cleanest published answer on materials in this group.
Best for: A parent focused on what the mattress is made of
| Set up | 43.2 x 29.5 x 23.2 in |
|---|---|
| Sleep surface | 38 x 24 x 1.5 in |
| Collapsed | 24 x 10 x 10 in |
| Weight | 12 lb |
| Mattress | Wovenaire breathe-thru core, washable cover and core |
| Certification | GREENGUARD Gold |
Specs from Newton Baby Compact Travel Crib product page, read 2026-09-27. Manufacturers revise specs without notice — check the listing before you buy.
Good at
- GREENGUARD Gold certified
- Wovenaire breathe-thru core, washable cover and core
- 38 x 24 x 1.5 in sleep surface with no gap at the frame
- 12 lb
Bad at
Newton does not name the federal structural standard on the page we read. It is sold in the US and therefore subject to it regardless, but Guava states it and Newton does not.
How it scores (out of 10)
Overall 9.0 — a research score against published specs, not a test result. See how we pick.
IllustrativeBabyBjörn Travel Crib Light
A 23.5 x 41 in mattress sized to a 32 x 44 in frame, with a one-motion open that leaves nothing to assemble wrongly.
Best for: Eliminating the edge gap without thinking about it
| Set up | 32 x 44 x 24 in |
|---|---|
| Folded | 23.5 x 19 x 5.5 in (L x W x H) |
| Weight | 13 lb (6 kg) including the carry bag |
| Mattress | 23.5 x 41 x 1.2 in |
Specs from BabyBjörn Travel Crib Light product page, read 2026-09-27. Manufacturers revise specs without notice — check the listing before you buy.
Good at
- Mattress sized to the frame — no gap to check at the edges
- One-motion open with no separate parts to fit
- 13 lb with the bag
Bad at
BabyBjörn names neither the federal standard nor an emissions certification on the page we read. The brand names both on its carrier pages, which makes the omission here conspicuous.
How it scores (out of 10)
Overall 8.6 — a research score against published specs, not a test result. See how we pick.
IllustrativeBaby Delight Go With Me Slumber Deluxe Portable Rocking Bassinet
JPMA certified with published limits — up to five months or 20 lb — which is an unusually precise end-point for a bassinet.
Best for: A bassinet stage with a third-party certification
| Dimensions | 33 x 18 x 22.5 in |
|---|---|
| Weight | 12 lb |
| Limit | up to 5 months or 20 lb |
| Certification | JPMA certified |
Specs from Baby Delight Slumber Deluxe Portable Rocking Bassinet product page, read 2026-09-27. Manufacturers revise specs without notice — check the listing before you buy.
Good at
- JPMA certified
- Publishes its limit plainly: up to 5 months or 20 lb
- 33 x 18 x 22.5 in, 12 lb
- Removable washable cover and sheet
Bad at
It is a bassinet, so it ends at 20 lb or five months. And it rocks — which means checking it sits flat and level when you are not actively rocking it.
How it scores (out of 10)
Overall 8.4 — a research score against published specs, not a test result. See how we pick.
IllustrativeNewton Baby Deluxe Travel Crib & Play Yard
GREENGUARD Gold and a fully washable core in the largest frame here — the practical safety win is being able to clean it properly.
Best for: A crib that stays up at a second home
| Set up | 51 x 35 x 29 in |
|---|---|
| Weight | 17 lb |
| Mattress | fully washable Wovenaire breathe-thru core |
| Certification | GREENGUARD Gold |
Specs from Newton Baby Deluxe Travel Crib product page, read 2026-09-27. Manufacturers revise specs without notice — check the listing before you buy.
Good at
- GREENGUARD Gold certified
- Fully washable Wovenaire mattress, cover and core
- 51 x 35 x 29 in — more room, less reason to climb
Bad at
17 lb, no published folded dimension, and no federal standard named on the page we read.
How it scores (out of 10)
Overall 8.5 — a research score against published specs, not a test result. See how we pick.
IllustrativeQuestions parents actually ask
Is one travel crib safer than another?
Not in the way the question implies. Every play yard and travel crib sold new in the US is subject to the same mandatory standard — CPSC's rule at 16 CFR part 1221, incorporating ASTM F406. What differs between brands is which certifications they publish and what they add voluntarily, such as GREENGUARD Gold for low emissions or JPMA certification.
What does GREENGUARD Gold actually certify?
Low chemical emissions. It is a third-party materials certification and says nothing about whether a rail latches or a floor holds. The structural rule is 16 CFR 1221 / ASTM F406. They are two separate claims and worth reading separately.
What makes a travel crib unsafe in practice?
Almost always what is added to it or how it is set up, not the crib. The common failures: a softer mattress or topper added, loose bedding, a rail not fully latched, or a gap between the mattress and the side. Our travel crib safety guide has the two-minute check.
Are second-hand travel cribs safe?
Treat them carefully. CPSC's rule has been revised over the years, so a crib of unknown age cannot be checked against the version currently in force, and recalls in this category are real. If you can read a model number, check it against CPSC's recall list before use.
Is a rocking bassinet safe for sleep?
A bassinet conforming to its standard, used flat with the pad it shipped with, is an appropriate sleep surface. The thing to watch is incline: the AAP states that sleep surfaces inclined more than 10 degrees are unsafe for infant sleep, so a rocker must sit flat and level at rest.
Sources
- Guava Family — Lotus Travel Crib — read 2026-09-27
- Newton Baby — Compact Travel Crib & Play Yard — read 2026-09-27
- Newton Baby — Deluxe Travel Crib & Play Yard — read 2026-09-27
- BabyBjörn — Travel Crib Light — read 2026-09-27
- Baby Delight — Slumber Deluxe Portable Rocking Bassinet — read 2026-09-27
- CPSC — play yards FAQ — read 2026-09-27
- CPSC — play yards business guidance (16 CFR part 1221, ASTM F406) — read 2026-09-27
- AAP — Sleep-Related Infant Deaths: Updated 2022 Recommendations — read 2026-09-27
Every figure on this page traces to one of the sources above. Airline policies and manufacturer specs change without notice — check the primary source before you rely on a number.
Read next
- Travel Crib Safety
What CPSC's play yard rule covers, what the AAP's 2022 recommendations require, and the five things not to add.
- Best Travel Cribs
Six travel cribs ranked on packed dimensions, weight and setup — the two specs that decide whether it flies with you.
- Most Comfortable Travel Cribs
Five travel cribs compared on published mattress thickness, construction and sleep-surface size — the specs that decide comfort.
- Best Pack 'n Plays
Six pack 'n plays compared on published weight, set-up size and the separate limits for the playard, bassinet and changer modes.
- Do Hotels Provide Cribs?
Usually yes, on request, free — none of which is guaranteed. The questions to ask and what to check on arrival.
More in Travel Cribs & Pack-and-Plays, or start from the front page.